Victoria, Australia: Designated driver on a wine tour

Are you wondering who on earth offers to be the designated driver on a wine tour? :) I am sadly ignorant as to wines and don’t have a palate at all so when my friends wanted to go on a wine tour, I offered to drive.  I was hoping to put my camera to good use and came back happy with my day’s pickings.  After a spate of miserable days, yesterday day dawned fine, a perfect day for a tour.  My friends lucked out as well, as the random wineries we picked turned out to be excellent ones and they came back with the boot of the car bursting with goodies of the liquid kind.  As for my goodies, here is a small selection of what I picked up.

Hanging Rock National Park

First photo stop, Hanging Rock.  Unfortunately, there wasn’t time to climb it.

Hanging rock National park

The Australian landscape with its subdued greens and greys of gum trees is a real challenge for any artist!!

Hanging Rock Winery

Hanging Rock Winery: Our first winery of the day offered me this picture book vista!! My friends were equally pleased with the wine they tasted and were happy to pick up quite a few bottles for their cellars.

Paramoor WineryParamoor Winery

Second stop: Paramoor winery, my favourite place to photograph and the winner of the day as far as the wine tasters were concerned.  With a friendly host who took time to show us around after the wine tasting, it was most educational. And the wine was exceptional and a great find for my friends.   I happily clicked away, pleased with the textures and shadows on offer. These old rusty bikes and the weathered building seemed to match each other perfectly!!

Paramoor Winery

The inside was very charming too. They run a small bed and breakfast and this beautiful barn(don’t know what to else call it) is available for small concerts as well.

Vigneron's home Paramoor WineryParamoor Winery

The vigneron’s home looked charming.

Granite Hill Winery

Next stop: Granite Hill winery which offered this beautiful landscape from its doorstep.  I tasted their whites, which were very pleasing, especially the sparkling. My friends loved the Shiraz and I bought one as a gift for my husband.

Last winery of the day: Louis de Castella wines in Heathecote. We took the opportunity to see the ‘pink cliffs’ reserve, which is just across from the cellar. These are eroded areas left by the gold miners after they sluiced the area.  The red earth of Australia is a thing of beauty…even in this eroded form.

Beautiful land formations which caught my eye.

Louis de Castella Wines, Heathecote

Looking out from the winery, I spotted some kangaroos grazing in the distance.

Ah, there they are !! And then some not so wild life came to check me out…and that was the end of the day well spent !!

Leave a Reply

